A Crazy-Good Video to Open Important Conversations

21 02 2014

I was pointed to the Youth Converts Culture website today in a discussion about the STEAMmaker Camp we’re building.

Youth Converts Culture

click to see their website

It’s a site full of youth voices & thoughts and it’s hands-down the most powerful and beautiful thing I’ve seen all week. One of the videos on the site is called “I’m Human.” I’m not sure why I clicked on it, in the far bottom corner of the page, but I did. And I’m glad I did.

And my highly-distractable mind actually sat here and watched the entire thing. Go ahead, take a look.

As I was watching, I couldn’t help but notice that I was thinking about these kids, these teachers, and what their stories were. That some felt obviously defined by the words on their sign. That others were struggling to be themselves. Yeah, I read into it.

And I like all kids, but I love middle school for this very reason: at this age, the physical manifestation of difference (tall, large, short, fat, pretty, nerdy, whatever) really does symbolize the academic and emotional differences we all have in us.

And I began to wonder how I’d use this video to spark conversations with people about schools.

It seems to be readily suited to open conversations about:

  • Differentiated instruction
  • Social emotional services
  • Bullying
  • Empathy-building
  • Academic supports
  • Career paths
  • Inspiration to see how we really are all the same

I’m not sure how I’ll use this, in parts or as the entire 9:13, but I will be using it soon to open up some important conversations with educators and kids. And I hope you do too.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

