Beating Up Our Schools on Social Media

13 01 2014

20140113-092554.jpg
I’m at Buena Vista University in Storm Lake, Iowa today and noticed that the food service here encourages people to connect with them. At first blush, I wonder why anyone would want to connect with them other than to to complain. I mean seriously, who’s tweeting them, raving about the Salisbury steak? I’m guessing they catch a bunch of complaints.

Or maybe not. Maybe they spend time connecting with their customers and figuring out how to make their service better.

In my travels, crisscrossing the US and oceans, I’ve been noticing something.

I notice many schools complain about how their customers, ie parents, post horrible things about the school, the district, the teachers, and even the kids. And I also notice that these are, more often than not, the very same districts and schools that overblock social media. And if they’re not overblocking, at best they’re using it only as a one-way, announcement-style communication device.

But they’re not interacting, developing relationships and healthy listening responses.

And I notice that those schools who are using social media connections to develop relationships with students and parents don’t seem to have as many of those complaints.

But I’m only starting to collect these observations. I’ve noticed this in about 5-10 schools.
What do you notice? Am I in some sort of artificial bubble? What do you see? In the schools and districts you know.

Actions

Information

One response

2 02 2014
Sunday Saloon: What I’ve Been Reading Online 2/2/14 | kelseyempfield

[…] After Katsok’s son created a youtube channel, she wonders about incorporating more technology into her classroom. Tech = good, right? But how do you feel about Beating Up Our Schools on Social Media? […]

Leave a Reply

